Book Review

Book Review: Confess

  • Title: Confess: A Novel
  • Author: Colleen Hoover
  • Genre: New Adult
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Inc.
  • Publication Date: March 10, 2015
  • ISBN: 9781476791456
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5
  • Buy: AmazonNational BookstoreFully Booked

“Auburn Reed has lost everything important to her. In her fight to rebuild her shattered life, she has her goals on sight and there is no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry. For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is keeping a major secret from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything Auburn loves most, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it. To save their relationship, all Owen needs to do is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin.” 

I have a lot of thoughts when it comes to this book. I’ve read it for less than 24 hours and it left me with mixed emotions.

Before reading:

Wow. The cover is really pretty and the title is interesting! I mean, hello?! That’s abstract and girly color right there. Both of which I love.

During reading:

The first part, prologue, got me hooked! I love books with tragic and sad tones in them and this is one of them.

As I make my way to part one, I was welcomed with Auburn haggling with a lawyer’s rate. I wasn’t prepared for this complete shift knowing that i’ve just read the prologue. From a sad scene to a completely new life of Auburn. The good thing was, it got me thinking and wanting to know what really did happen there? Why was Auburn hiring a lawyer? Why was Auburn wanting to get an extra job? Why did Auburn transferred into Dallas?

By middle part, I was already making up theories and guesses in my mind. I was like, “I knew this. I know what will going to happen. Trust me in this.” I actually hated that I can predict what was going to happen but no! I was wrong! Everything I was thinking didn’t happen. Hahahaha! I don’t actually know if i’ll get disappointed or happy that the book actually played a trick on me. You totally got me there, Hoover!

The ending was something I didn’t expect and I really, really love how the author beautifully connected it with every part of the story. Flawless and unpredictable.

Something that irked me a bit was the fast-paced relationship of Auburn and Owen. They got clingy with each other instantly. I find myself whispering “woah slow down there, you two” at some scenes. I also hate how wimpish Auburn is for not fighting for her rights.

Overall, I came to love the book and its story. I’m rating it with ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5 stars. The concept of confessions and art is very unique. Way to go, Owen!

Leave a Reply

