Book Review

Book Review: Skyscrapers & Camelot

  • Title: Skyscrapers & Camelot
  • Series: Renovate Series
  • Author: Mindy Carter
  • Genre: Contemporary Romance
  • Publisher: CreateSpace
  • Publication Date: August 3, 2015
  • ISBN: 9781515032496
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5
  • Buy: Amazon

“Keegan was my world since I was six years old. When he walked out of my life I was certain I would never see him again. Now I’m looking into his incredibly beautiful blue eyes. He came back into my life as quickly as he left. Now I can’t imagine ever living another day without him. My name is Aimee and this is the story of how I lost and found my best friend and soul mate. The journey may be tough but there is no denying that Keegan and I were destined to be together since the day we met.”

Happily ever-afters, childhood sweethearts, second chances…. We all have our fair share of those moments, right? This book holds a lot of scenes such as those. It tells the story of Aimee and Keegan, bestfriends since 7, fell in love with each other, been apart and find their way together again but the catch? It does not end there yet. There are so much more in between and a lot of things that are still going to happen.

The book opens up directly to where the story is headed, no long pages of flowery and getting to know every skin color, eye color or those sort of things that the usual book has. I like how the author was straight-forward. No boring moments. That’s a plus!

But what bothered me was the couple of typos and/or grammatical errors that I came across while reading. To site a few:

“We make are way to the security desk where a portly old man sits, watching a set of computer monitors.” 

“That’s what I’m her for”

I’m no grammar nazi but things like these gets a bit eyesore to me. This is also one of the reasons why i’m rating it 3.5 stars.

The characters has different characteristics that I want to point out. These are just some of them:

Aimee: She’s one independent woman and I like that of her. As a girl who grew up without a mom, I try to understand her loopholes when it comes to love. When she dived then and there to her feelings with Keegan. Also, her jokes are awful but I think that’s how the author wanted to portray that side of her personality. Spitting out “meh” jokes.

Reese: She is my second favorite character from this book. Very supportive and hilarious. I love the way she throws banters but she still needs more lift up when it comes to those. I can see her as one of the characters that would develop beautifully in the coming books.

Keegan: I think, Keegan is the mature one among the characters. I love him but I also see areas of improvements on his character. He becomes a bit corny and so mushy at times that it makes me cringe. But that’s okay. When you’re in love, that’s what happens. Haha!

When it comes to the overall of the book, the author gave me mixed emotions. It was a light read and although there are a lot of improvements needed, I still enjoyed it. This book/series is promising and I want to read the next books. I know Mindy has so much in store for us, readers.

Leave a Reply

