Book Review

Book Review: Butterfly Dreams

  • Title: Butterfly Dreams
  • Author: A. Meredith Walters
  • Genre: Contemporary Romance
  • Publisher: Loveswept
  • Publication Date: November 24, 2015
  • ASIN: B00UQF3O98
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

bdcover-225x300

In a powerful romance hailed as “heartbreaking, real, and breathtakingly beautiful” by Stacey Lynn, New York Times bestselling author A. Meredith Walters tells the story of a troubled young woman and the unforgettable guy who teaches her to live—and love—to the fullest.
 
“She’s waiting to die. . . . Corin Thompson is paralyzed by her obsession with mortality. Having lost both of her parents, she is terrified by the idea that she too will die young, and she loses control at any sign of illness. But when Corin connects with someone who has survived a very real brush with death, she begins to see the world in a whole new way. He’s learning to live. . . . As Corin struggles under the weight of her neuroses, Beckett Kingsley is attempting to rebuild a life that feels all too temporary. With the ever-present threat of heart failure never far from his mind, he just wants to make the most of whatever time he has left. And that means pursuing the girl he never expected to find. Together, Corin and Beckett finally learn to let go of their fears and take solace in everyday pleasures. Who knows what the future holds? After all, nothing lasts forever—the only promise they have is right now.”

Butterfly Dreams is a story about Corin and Beckett. Corin has lost both her mom and dad one after the other which eventually made her obsessed with sickness, illness and death. A simple headache, cough or colds convinces her that it’s maybe a symptom of a more threatening disease. Beckett is a guy who lives the life. He has it all. A well-intact family, stable job and an active lifestyle for he plays football and other sports. Until the time came when he was no longer able to keep up with the life he once led because of a heart attack.

Corin’s anxiousness and Beckett’s heart attack made them join the support group known as Mended Hearts. They met here where their story began.

“What was the point of living when I had to stop doing so many of the things that I enjoyed?”

When I started this book, I was amused by how good Meredith’s writing is. It was easy to understand and she could balance the deep and light parts well. She was one of those rare authors who can keep you reading and reading even in the first few chapters. It wasn’t boring. Most of the time I need to pause from reading and just suck in all the words because they were too good! I needed to catch my breath once in a while which made me finish this in couple of days.

Corin is easily relatable, as for me. I also went through the “gaga phase” in which I would google all the symptoms that i’ve been feeling and convincing myself that I might have cancer or tumor or cyst. It was ridiculous but on Corin’s part it was also because she underwent a trauma of losing her loved ones. I sometimes wanted to hit her with a brick for overthinking and making problems out of nothing but thank God her background was discussed early on the book. So yeah, I understand where she’s coming from. Other than that, there’s nothing more to hate on her. I love all the funny monologues she’s been having on her mind. She’s quirky. She’s unique and she’s straightforward which is always a plus for me.

“Why couldn’t my voice be all suave and sexy-like instead of sounding like a mouse sucking down helium?”

images (1)

Beckett is the kind of guy you’ll instantly love. He’s a beauty, a gentleman and some kind of a stalker? Lol. But seriously, you could be intimidated by him at first but upon knowing him, you’d be pulled in his world full of positivity. He’s the kind of guy you’ll easily get along well.

“Beckett smiled. And when he smiled, it lit up his entire face. Damn. Those straight, white teeth were lethal.”

huge-biceps-kiss-me

Butterfly Dreams is one roller coaster ride I wasn’t even aware i’ve been riding. The whole time I was reading, I didn’t saw all the plot twists coming. By the end part, I was sobbing. Damn! I was ugly crying! I finished a pack of kleenex. It took me a while to write this review because I have to process everything. My feels were scattered everywhere! It was beautifully written with a punch in the gut. Emotional read but will leave you smiling.

885099_originalWith all the emotions this book gives, my favorite would be the positivity that it offers. It tells us that we should always be thankful for what we have and just go on with life. There was balance in this book. Sad but uplifting.

“Being scared is never an excuse to hide. You should wake up every morning thankful you have another day to enjoy.”

“Stop thinking about your life in increments. Seconds. Minutes. Days. Look at the bigger picture and embrace whatever time you have. Don’t look constantly toward the end. Enjoy the right now.”

You shouldn’t miss out on A. Meredith’s awesome, amazing and heart-tugging Butterfly Dreams!

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Butterfly Dreams

    1. I think the cover is beautiful and the butterflies has been talked about a lot in the story. Also, the element of a “romance” cover is still there because of the couple kissing. It is out of the ordinary but still eye-catching and beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

