Book Review

Book Review: Arsen

  • Title: Arsen
  • Author: Mia Asher
  • Genre: Romance
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Publication Date: August 23, 2013
  • ISBN: 978-1492131014
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

41eid1ghqcl-_sx332_bo1204203200_

Synopsis Ribbon

“One glance was all it took… I’m a cheater. I’m a liar. My whole life is a mess. I love a man. No, I love two men… I think. One makes love to me. The other sets me on fire. One is my rock. The other is my kryptonite. I’m broken, lost, and disgusted with myself. But I can’t stop. This is my story. My broken love story.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

It took me a few days before finally writing a review for this book. (Oh well… That pretty much happens. Haha!) Arsen is one of my most anticipated reads. It’s been in my TBR for a very long time now and I was actually searching for a physical copy before reading it but unfortunately, none of our local bookstores carry this title. I’ve been searching here & there for it. I even looked up online booksellers but to no avail. So, I gave in. I bought myself a kindle copy and read. Since almost all of my friends who I ask for a “sad” book recommendations, spit out “READ ARSEN” always. I’ve come to set my standards high for this one.

Now about the book…

It revolves around Cathy and Ben’s marriage life. They’ve been your typical husband & wife who are living happily together until Cathy had three miscarriages and this got her numb. This totally changed her and left a gap on their marriage.

And then here goes Arsen. Young, sexy, gorgeous playboy who was attracted to Cathy and made her feel again. And yes, Cathy has been hanging on that “feeling” and she’s drawn to that. WHILE SHE’S MARRIED TO BEN.

I’ve been a fan of tragic, sad and books that would make me ugly cry for hours and Arsen is not one of those. Yup, i’ve been a bit disappointed. I thought it would give me book hangover or anything sort of that thing. The first few parts were so dragging I almost DNF-ed it. BUT THAT LAST PART. I MEAN OH MY GOSH. I don’t even know what to say. I don’t even know whose side to take. My feelings are all over the place. This book did not make me cry but it sure as hell made me feel a pang of pain.

9C0UxA4Ben, I hurt for Ben. He’s the perfect husband anyone could ask for. He loved Cathy with all that he is. For me, he is the masochist here and he is the hero. For a second there, I wanted to crawl inside the book and hug him. Sympathize with him.

“Own me, fill me, break me, repair me, complete me. Do whatever you want to me. Just stay with me. I need you. I need you to be able to live. I need my life back, I need you back.”

Every word Ben says cuts right through me like a dagger. It was too painful and I freaking hate Cathy for it. The most disturbed character here is Cathy. She needed help. After those miscarriages she just slipped away and just did not accept the fact that she cannot bear a child. Her depression led to a lot of pain not only to her but to the people surrounding her. She needs therapy.

For Arsen, I think he was the antagonist here. I hate people like him. People who still stick with someone they know is already taken. Though in the latter part, I kind of ache for him too but whatever, he deserve that pain. At least, for me.

tumblr_inline_ncvz2iWHNf1qkdowuI don’t know how to rate this book because it made me angry, ache and angry and ache again. But the bottomline is, yes. It was good. Better even. But it did not hit home to me. Maybe I need a re-read. Mia Asher has wrote a book that’s twisted but compelling. It was indeed a broken love story.

4

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Arsen

Leave a Reply

