Book Review

Book Review: Kaleidoscope Hearts

 

  • Title: Kaleidoscope Hearts
  • Series: Hearts 
  • Author: Claire Contreras
  • Genre: New Adult,  Romance
  • Publisher: Self-published
  • Publication Date: January 20, 2015
  • ISBN: 978-0986416705
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

23545800

Synopsis Ribbon

“He was my older brother’s best friend. He was never supposed to be mine. I thought we would get it out of our system and move on. One of us did. One of us left. Now he’s back, looking at me like he wants to devour me. And all those feelings I’d turned into anger are brewing into something else, something that terrifies me. He broke my heart last time. This time he’ll obliterate it.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

First of all, I left my notes that I jot down for this book review. Urghh!!

Kaleidoscope Hearts is about second chance romance and a brother’s best friend falling in love with the younger sister. Elle was still mourning the passing of her fiance. It was hard for her so as a part of this moving on, she decided to sell their house and move temporarily with her brother, Victor. She was ready to start anew until Oliver came into the picture.

Back then, Elle has been in love with Oliver and vice versa. But the warnings of Victor made this love affair forbidden and almost impossible. Until the time came that Oliver is ready to fight for what he’s feeling.

I LOOOOOOOVE THIS BOOK! The writing style is very, very good to the point that I didn’t notice I was already reading the last page. It was swoon-worthy and I just… I devoured this book. But I have a issue here. The plot. I was looking for deeper problem that the characters would be able to solve along the way but it seemed to stick to that brother’s best friend thing and honestly, it came off to me as shallow.

Other than that, I loved this book and I am gushing on how pretty the cover is!! Also, the idea of kaleidoscope hearts is so unique! I want one for myself too. 🙂

I understand that this is the first book on the Hearts series so yes, I am going to read the other books. For the mean time, here are my favorite quotes from the book:

“The one thing he forgot to teach me was how to deal with the way my chest squeezed after he broke the ghost of what heart I had left. I’d always wonder if maybe he’d been trying to figure it out for himself, or if he just never felt anything at all.”

“They say the best way to move on is to let go. As if letting go is the easy part. As if trying to dim or erase three years of memories, good and bad, is something you can do in one day.”

“….but you can’t turn your back on your struggles and expect them to disappear on their own. It just doesn’t happen.”

“I used to be that girl who was optimistic about everything, but then life slapped me in the face and forced me to become realist.”

“Sometimes we let the first ones get away, but it teaches us to cherish the second ones that much more.”

“The difference is that it’s already broken, but I use the pieces to rebuild it. The difference is that the heart has a second chance, and maybe it’ll get broken again, but it’s already shattered, so maybe the fall won’t be as bad.”

4

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Kaleidoscope Hearts

Leave a Reply

