Author Interview · Blog Tour

Mini Interview with Tracy A. Ward

Along with the blog tour of Fair Play, I had the opportunity to interview Tracy Ward but I had to keep it to a few questions only so here it goes:

Head Shot

  1. What did you originally like to be when you grew up?

Thank you, Jamila, for hosting me on your blog! I’m so excited to be here. Like most kids, I was all over the board with what I wanted to be when I grew up. After I realized being Wonder Woman wasn’t a viable profession, I lowered my standards to being a telephone operator (which is something many readers of the Fair Play age demographic have no concept of 🙂 ). By the time I hit junior high school, I wanted to be the first woman to be drafted into the NBA (there was no WNBA at the time). Once I hit high school, journalism seemed like a good idea. I did like to write, but once I got into college, I majored in psychology and criminal justice, thinking I’d be an FBI profiler (and became a banker instead). Never in my wildest imagination did I think I would one day write or publish novels. I was just happy reading the heck out of them!

2. Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?

As you may have noticed, I have commitment issues. The surest way to NOT hit a particular word count, for me, is to set a goal to do it. My writing schedule is very organic. There are days I write five thousand words and others when I write five.

3. Do you read much and if so who are your favorite authors?

I am a prolific reader and my tastes are all over the board. I love mystery, thrillers, suspense, chick lit, erotica, true crime…except for maybe westerns, there isn’t a genre I haven’t read. Though I write new adult and adult contemporary romance, I try not to read tons in that genre so the voice of the author I’m reading doesn’t come across in my writing. My all-time favorite author is Marian Keyes. I also love Liane Moriarty, Gillian Flynn, Nora Roberts and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

4. Tell us about the cover/s and how it/they came about?

For my cover, I teamed up with the wonderful owner of Sweet N Spicy Designs. I knew I wanted to incorporate drama/theater masks in some way, but also convey the fun and flirty tone of the book. Jaycee DeLorenzo and I collaborated and she designed an awesome cover for Fair Play.

5. Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers?

My strategy for finding reviewers was pretty simple. Hire a professional. Barclay Publicity has done a fantastic job building a buzz and the rest has taken care of itself.

Thank you so much, Tracy A. Ward! Her book Fair Play is already out! Read my review here.

 

One thought on “Mini Interview with Tracy A. Ward

Leave a Reply

