Book Review

Book Review: A Thousand Boy Kisses

  • Title: A Thousand Boy Kisses
  • Author: Tillie Cole
  • Genre: Young Adult,  Contemporary Romance
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Publication Date: March 14, 2016
  • ISBN: 978-1530496198
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

25912358

Synopsis Ribbon

“One kiss lasts a moment. But a thousand kisses can last a lifetime. One boy.
One girl. A bond that is forged in an instant and cherished for a decade.
A bond that neither time nor distance can break. A bond that will last forever. Or so they believe. When seventeen-year-old Rune Kristiansen returns from his native Norway to the sleepy town of Blossom Grove, Georgia, where he befriended Poppy Litchfield as a child, he has just one thing on his mind. Why did the girl who was one half of his soul, who promised to wait faithfully for his return, cut him off without a word of explanation?
Rune’s heart was broken two years ago when Poppy fell silent. When he discovers the truth, he finds that the greatest heartache is yet to come.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

There are some books you read that will stay with you for a long time and I found my first one for this year. This is it! Wow. Wow. Wow!!! I don’t know if my review will give justice on how beautiful, amazing and wonderful this book is, probably not. But i’ll try my very, very best to urge you to read this one. This is too good!! Hands down!!!

First off, this is my first Tillie Cole book (and definitely not my last) and also her first YA. During the first part of the book, I was taken aback at how straightforward and outspoken Poppy is. I was like, “Hey, hey, hey! You’re too young for that, girl.” but while the story progresses, I was enlightened. The author has given Rune and Poppy the power to let the world see and understand that love is not defined by age. Love finds you even if you are young and no one has the right to tell you otherwise.

Poppy and Rune has been childhood friends since they were five and fell in love with each other as years pass by. They go to the same school and neighborhood and share a special place called the blossom grove. They’ve been too attached with each other and when the time came that Rune and his family needed to transfer to Oslo, it broke both their hearts.

While they are on a long distance relationship, Poppy has decided to cut all ties with Rune. She stayed away without a single explanation. Rune did all he can to reach Poppy but to no avail. This broke his heart, this changed him.

After sometime, Rune came back to Georgia, the place where they first met with Poppy. He came back as a changed man. And this is where the story progressed. The built-in anger and pain that Rune has been hiding was let out when he started talking to Poppy.

Most of the scenes are heart-wrenching and tearjerker. It is almost filled with heart-tugging emotions that I couldn’t help but shed a tear or two. My heart felt so heavy while reading this book. Aaahhh!!! It is really so good my feeling are all over the place!

On the characters: I love each and everyone in the story. The sub-characters did their job so perfectly, they were all engaging and didn’t felt like only a decoration.

Poppy is the girl you would want to be at some point of your life. She is so optimistic and lives life to the fullest. The loyalty she has shown to Rune is to the top. Not to mention how selfless she can be with the people surrounding her. I love, love the strength this girl has!

Rune is the teenager who is easily eaten by his emotions. I understand where he is coming from. Of course, when you are left hanging by the only person you love in this world, you sometimes succumb to the pain and let it change who you are into a monster you wouldn’t thought you could be. But, love is greater than all those and I am happy Rune has conquered all his demons. Love prevailed.

Aunt Deedee is my favorite among all those sub-characters. Everyone has that one aunt who is down for everything just to make you feel happy. I wanted to get inside the book and hug her for everything she’s done for Poppy and Rune.

On the storyline: Goshhhh…. Shall I gush again on how perfect this story is? The story developed so well that I did not see that ending coming. It was beautiful and swoon-worthy. Along the story, I learn pieces of moral lessons about life and death that I will take with me wherever I go. The eagerness of Poppy to live her life to the fullest and to always see the good in everything moved me and inspired me.

I admit, there are parts of the story which is generic to the readers eyes like the second chance love but because of Tillie’s great writing style, it came off as special as special can be 🙂

This book is worth all the tears and time that you would spend on it. It is breathtakingly beautiful. Yes, you will cry, sob even but will leave a smile on your face. I am hoping this will turn into a movie. Please!!!

5

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Thousand Boy Kisses

Leave a Reply

