Blog Tour · Book Review

Blog Tour: The Midnight Sea

Midnight Sea Blog Tour

  • Title: The Midnight Sea
  • Author: Kat Ross
  • Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
  • Series: The Fourth Element
  • Publisher: Acorn
  • Publication Date: March 26, 2016
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

The-Midnight-Sea-Ebook

Synopsis Ribbon

“They are the light against the darkness. The steel against the necromancy of the Druj. And they use demons to hunt demons…. Nazafareen lives for revenge. A girl of the isolated Four-Legs Clan, all she knows about the King’s elite Water Dogs is that they bind wicked creatures called daevas to protect the empire from the Undead. But when scouts arrive to recruit young people with the gift, she leaps at the chance to join their ranks. To hunt the monsters that killed her sister. Scarred by grief, she’s willing to pay any price, even if it requires linking with a daeva named Darius. Human in body, he’s possessed of a terrifying power, one that Nazafareen controls. But the golden cuffs that join them have an unwanted side effect. Each experiences the other’s emotions, and human and daeva start to grow dangerously close. As they pursue a deadly foe across the arid waste of the Great Salt Plain to the glittering capital of Persepolae, unearthing the secrets of Darius’s past along the way, Nazafareen is forced to question his slavery—and her own loyalty to the empire. But with an ancient evil stirring in the north, and a young conqueror sweeping in from the west, the fate of an entire civilization may be at stake…”

My Thoughts Ribbon

I received a digital copy of this book for the blog tour and it does not affect my thoughts, in any way.

When I received an invite for a blog tour for this book, I instantly said yes because Raf’s choice of books is always exemplary. I dived blind into this book without even reading the blurb because that’s just how I go when reading books.

First off, the cover. Oh holy mother of cows, the book cover is stunning! I know from then on that this would be a fantasy slash young adult genre. Not my cup of tea but I still give it a chance because why not?!

When I started reading it, I was really pulled into it by Kat’s writing style. It was engaging and flawless. If I may have more quite environment and less distractions, I might have enjoyed this book better. Note to self: re-read!

The Midnight Sea is set in a Middle Eastern Empire and if I am not mistaken, it has a touch of Greek into it too. I honestly do not have a wide knowledge about this so I kind of find it hard to connect to the main setting and the other references. Going back, the main storyline is about Nazafareen and her journey on seeking revenge for her sister. She entered Tel Khalujah and trained to become a Water Dog. A Water Dog is bonded with a Daeva and their main motive is to kill Druj. Druj are monsters or devils, just like Daevas but Daevas are trained to be good.

The plot has a lot or revelations which I think is good to hook the readers more to this series but for me, I got lost. I have a lot of questions stuck in my head while reading because I honestly did not get or I failed to follow the course of the story. There a lot of references that I do not understand and events that I could not comprehend. I wanted more explanations about certain things. Gossshhhh, I need a re-read!!!

On the characters: I love how the main characters are depicted in the story. Especially Nazafareen and Tijah. The heroines who could strongly stand for themselves and fight a great battle. Women empowerment, yes to that! Also, I like how romance was taken slightly or should I say, it was realistic. It’s not your typical insta-love story that happens in most books that we read. Nazafareen and her love interest went through the getting-to-know stage to bonding to developing their feelings and so on…

On the world-building: This. It was good but I wanted more of it. I wanted more explanations, more description and back story so I could picture it in my mind. Other than that, it was okay.

I really have to re-read this one and i’ve mentioned re-read four times now. Haha!

P.S I’m so sorry Raf for posting this late. 😦

3

The Author Ribbon

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve always loved to read more than anything in the world, especially so-called genre stories—mysteries, fantasy, sci-fi, thrillers, horror. I like books that take you by the hand and lead you out of the mundane. That ease back the curtain and show you the wondrous and dark and unexpected lurking just around the next corner. I worked in journalism for a long time before I returned to writing fiction. Guess which is more fun?

Website | Twitter

Leave a Reply

