Book Review

Book Review: Everything, Everything

  • Title: Everything, Everything
  • Author: Nicola Yoon
  • Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press
  • Publication Date: September 01, 2015
  • ISBN: 978-0553496642
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

18692431

Synopsis Ribbon

“My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

I have been hearing good things about Everything, Everything, it has been trending in my twitter timeline and a lot of my book blogger friends are praising it so I told myself, “I will find you and I will devour you.” and devour I did.

Everything, Everything follows the story of Maddy who suffers from a rare disease known as SCID (Severe Combined Immunodeficiency). She is not allowed to go outside so she mainly stays in their house  with her personal nurse and Mom. When a time comes that a new family moved to their neighborhood, she saw Olly and they became friends. It started from a mere spying to e-mailing to Olly visiting Maddy in the house and then it all went downhill.

I read it in one sitting and I loved it. It was a quick read, fast-paced and cute. The kind of books I always wanted my eyes to land into. For me, it actually brought me inside Maddy’s world. I love how engaging her narration is. But of course, since this is a debut novel, plot holes and flaws would mostly be present. Some of the issues my co-readers have for this book is as follows: (might contain spoilers……)

  • The disease Maddy has. – Okay, for some or even for me, I find this quite OA. Imagine when you cannot go outside in fear of being infected with the outside air. WHAAAATTT???! But yes, in real life this disease really exists. Surprise, surprise!
  • The insta-love between Maddy and Olly. – This one did not seem insta-love for me or I probably did not saw it that way because yes I admit, I find the IM’s and every visit cute. Hahaha! When I finished reading it, that’s when I realize that it actually is an insta-love. But, wait! I understand this because Maddy has always been caged inside their house and having Olly has been her escape. On Olly’s part, Maddy has been his comfort and also an escape away from his crumbling family.
  •  The great escape to Hawaii. – This one is too good to be true. I mean, two youngsters flew there instantly? This made me say, “eh?” Such brave souls.
  • The relationship of Maddy and her mom. – I love this part! It depicts how a  most of mom and child bond is. There is the occasional rebellion but at the end of the day, our parents is still our refuge. I hope more books would highlight topics such as this.

Nevertheless, this book is still worth the read and I am rating it 5 stars because it lift me out of my slump. Some parts may be cliche but overall, it is a compelling read and it teaches us to appreciate the little things in life.

One last thing, the cover is glorious. I couldn’t stop glancing at it every now and then.

5

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Everything, Everything

  1. I love this book!!! I got it as an arc and devoured it. Once it came out I was handselling it to everyone because it is such a good read and I can’t wait to see what else this author comes out with. So glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like I don’t actually mind the insta-love as much because of course she’s gonna fall for the first guy she sees if he’s the only one ever! It makes sense, haha.

    I also love the relationship between Maddy and her mum, though – I think it would’ve been so much more interesting if the book has explored that more, especially towards the end… and I feel like the ending is a bit of a cop-out from the author so the protagonist is free to live her life however she wishes.

    Yay for getting out of reading slumps! What’s your next read? 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Totally agree! I also wanted more of the mom and daughter highlight. Hope to see more of that in her next book. Oh! My next read is Our Demons, Best Friend by Diana Scott. Check it out! :)))

      Like

  3. I have to agree that this book was a really fun read, and I absolutely loved the IMs between Olly and Maddy. And yes, a trip to Hawaii? It just seems so implausible, especially if the both of them are under 18 (are they? I think they are), but that’s okay haha.

    I’m glad you enjoyed this so much! I read this last year and didn’t like it as much as I thought I did, but it was still fun to read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

