Book Review

Book & Movie Review: Me Before You

  • Title: Me Before You
  • Author: Jojo Moyes
  • Genre: Romance, New Adult
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publication Date: December 31, 2012
  • ISBN: 9780670026609
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

15507958

Synopsis Ribbon

“Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that. What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

Me Before You has a special place in my heart since it was one of the first books that scarred me. Haha! Kidding aside, I’ve read this a long time ago and I loved it. Long before I even discovered about book blogging. So this review is for my “re-read”.

I skimmed this before watching the movie and read it all over again after watching so I actually know every details that has to it. The first time I have read this book, I was sobbing my way through it. It was so heartfelt and so emotional and so heartbreakingly beautiful I don’t even have words for it. During my re-read, I did not even shed a tear. Maybe because I already knew what was going to happen? But what got me is that I understood the underlying message it wants to convey.

  1. The way people treat disabled persons, especially those who are on wheelchair. I admit, sometimes I become one of those people. I tend to unintentionally stare at a disabled person and scenarios of what might have put him/her in that situation usually clouds my mind. Okay, that’s a bit rude so I am sorry! I did not intend to. Lou Clark made me understand what a carer and a disabled person feels every time that happens.
  2. We choose what we want for ourselves, for our lives. I do not commend nor do I hate Will for his choices. I completely understand where he is coming from. Life is beautiful until it isn’t. Will tried to live again, to do everything he can just to live up to his current state but when life fucks you over to no recovery, no matter how optimistic you are, you are left with no choice but to accept whatever God has destined you to be. Whatever Will did, I view it as his acceptance. This is actually a sensitive issue and I rather leave it at that for I might spoil you too much.
  3. Love does not always end up beautifully. No matter how much effort you exert, how much you give or how much you love a person, it will not always end up how you wanted it to be and that’s okay. Endings are new beginnings.
  4. There’s good in everything that happens and little things means the most. 

“All I can say is that you make me… you make me into someone I couldn’t even imagine. You make me happy, even when you’re awful. I would rather be with you – even the you that you seem to think is diminished – than with anyone else in the world.”

The flaws of the characters and the story itself is what makes this book perfect. It was flawed but stayed true to reality. I love it when books are like that. The simple happy moments that Will and Lou shared gave me smiles, warmed my heart and moved me. i like how it did not only revolve around romance but also tackled about life, friendship and family.

On the movie:

I don’t have quite comments about the movie because it was good. Yes, only good. I like how it stayed true to the book. Even the lines, the setting and most especially Lou’s wardrobe. Lol! On the book, I ugly cried! But the movie only made me teary-eyed. I guess that’s pretty normal. Film-adaptations couldn’t really capture everything that’s been written on the book.

5

3 thoughts on “Book & Movie Review: Me Before You

Leave a Reply

