Book Review · Mini Review

Mini Reviews #1

Posting reviews really help authors so I decided to do a mini review for the books which I have read a few months back but haven’t done a full review because of laziness. Lol! I really fail at managing my time. I hate you, adult life. This would be by batches so expect a couple of books in one post.


29610595

  • Title: Too Late
  • Author: Colleen Hoover
  • Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
  • Publisher: Wattpad
  • Publication Date: April , 2016
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Free: Wattpad

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis Ribbon

“Sloan will go through hell and back for her little brother. And she does, every single night. Forced to remain in a relationship with the dangerous and corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to make sure her brother has what he needs. Nothing will get in her way. Nothing except Carter. Sloan is the only good thing to ever happen to Asa. He knows this and he never plans on letting her go; even if she doesn’t approve of his lifestyle. But despite Sloan’s disapproval, Asa knows what it takes to get what he wants. He knows what he needs to do to remain on top. Nothing will get in his way. Nothing except Carter.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

This is different from the usual CoHo stories that i’ve read but just equally good. It is dark, intense and jam-packed with actions. I read this chapter by chapter since it is free on Wattpad and could only be accessed every time Colleen updates so I experienced a roller coaster ride from being so hyped up while reading to waiting impatiently for the next chapter. This is told in three alternating POVs so you could really get inside every main character’s mind. Also, the story is explicit hence the “mature only audience” warning.

I don’t want to elaborate more about the happenings in this story. Basically, you get the birds eye view of it. It is dark, a lot of violence, sex and manipulations happened. What I want to discuss more about is how brilliant Colleen’s writing is. She originally wrote this as an escape to writer’s block and continued on it while on a travel. Everything you’ll read in this story is pure and raw. No edits but rather a spontaneous writing. I liked it. It did not even felt like it’s unedited but I wanted more depth and more actions because it was addicting! Overall, it is good. I would want to see more of this CoHo’s side of writing.

Would recommend? Definitely, yes!

4

dot-divider

41VZtg8ULaL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

  • Title: So Much More
  • Author: Kim Holden
  • Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
  • Publisher: Do Epic LLC
  • Publication Date: March 28, 2016
  • ISBN: 9780991140282
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Synopsis Ribbon

“Love is strange. It comes out of nowhere. There’s no logic to it. It’s not methodical. It’s not scientific. It’s pure emotion and passion. And emotion and passion can be dangerous because they fuel love…and hate. I’m now a reluctant connoisseur of both—an expert through immersion. I know them intimately. When I fell in love with Miranda, it was swift and blind. She was the person I’d elevated to mythical status in my head, in my dreams. Here’s the thing about dreams, they’re smoke. They’re spun as thoughts until they become something we think we want. Something we think we need. That was Miranda. She was smoke. I thought I wanted her. I thought I needed her. Over time reality crept in and slowly dissected and disemboweled my dreams like a predator, leaving behind a rotting carcass. Reality can be a fierce bitch. So can Miranda. And I can be a fool… who believes in dreams. And people. And love.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

This book, wow. This is my first Kim Holden read although I already have Bright Side and Gus too. The storyline is one I would no doubt read. Seamus, a loving husband who gives his everything to his wife Miranda is everything you could ask for and is the kind of character you would be cheering and rooting for till the end. I like how even though he has bitterness inside of him, he does not show it off by taking a full on revenge but rather uses it as a reason to love his children even more. There is nothing not to love about Seamus.

On the other hand, Miranda is the most troubled and flawed character that this book has. I really hated her on the first parts of the story and her revelations was all pure evil that I wanted to strangle her to death! She kind of reminded me of Mia from Arsen. I hate them both. But on the latter part of the story, I get the enlightenment about why Miranda is acting the way she is. I think among all the characters, she is the one who needs the most love she can get. Also, she needs helps. Miranda, go see  a shrink.

Overall, I like this book and it is a powerful read especially to those who are already married. The family issues that this book showed do really happen in reality.

Would recommend? YES!!!

4

dot-divider

28188156
  • Title: Burning Muses
  • Author: J.R. Rogue
  • Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary
  • Publisher: Radiant Sky Publishing Group
  • Publication Date: April 6, 2016
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Synopsis Ribbon

“I’ve burned muses. I’ve felt little remorse. I stored our tales. I sold them for this life—this luxury, this ease. Their sighs and lies led me to believe they enjoyed the dance too. I’ve burned muses. I laughed at those tales. Then I met him.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

This is J.R. Rogue’s debut novel. It follows the story of Seraphina, a writer who suffers writer’s block and decided to go back to her hometown where she met Chace. Okay, that’s just is. I do not pretty much remember what happened on that book but Thanks God for the notes I wrote while reading. I scribbled a few things and here are my comments:

  1. Too descriptive and a few unnecessary details and dialogues
  2. Love all the steamy, sexy scenes. – Wait! I have a favorite line here. “I am going to kiss you, Sera, and you’re going to want me to.” Gaaahhh!!! Giddy to the bones!
  3. It was too intricate for my liking
  4. I will quote one of my live tweet back when I was reading this, “Reading Burning Muses and i’m liking it so far though it’s very evident that it is a debut novel because of the storyline.” 
  5. The poetry? Damn good!!!

Would recommend? Yes.

3

dot-divider

1306417
  • Title: The Lottery
  • Author: Shirley Jackson
  • Genre: Classic
  • Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux; 2nd edition
  • Publication Date: March 16, 2005
  • ISBN: 9781563127878
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Synopsis Ribbon

“Shirley Jackson’s The Lottery is a memorable and terrifying masterpiece, fueled by a tension that creeps up on you slowly without any clear indication of why. This is just a townful of people, after all, choosing their numbers for the annual lottery. What’s there to be scared of?”

My Thoughts Ribbon

This 8-page story is a killer! I mean, wow. I read this while queuing for an FX on my way to work and I was dumbfounded! What did I just read? What was that? I need more explanations! I need more chapters!!!

4

9 thoughts on “Mini Reviews #1

  1. I loved CoHo’s Too Late 🙂 I agree with you, it was dark, but that was definitely one of the reasons I loved it. That story is so different from what CoHo normally writes… And how she played with us with the epilogues! Shame on her. (I still love her, but still, that was nasty haha).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

