Book Review

Book Review: Our Demons, Best Friends

  • Title: Our Demons, Best Friends
  • Author: Diana T. Scott
  • Series: Half of Me (Book 1)
  • Genre: New Adult Contemporary
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Publication Date: May 10, 2015
  • ISBN: 9781511942867
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

25526216

Synopsis Ribbon

“Ava and Sebastian are two medical residents who in a perfect world, would really like each other. But both of them are closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light – Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?”

My Thoughts Ribbon

First of all, I want to thank Diana for being such a good soul and sending me a physical copy of this book. You do not know how much you made me so happy! Also, I apologize if my review took a long time. I blame my terrible slump and all the adult-ing I have to attend to.

I have a lot to say about this book so I may as well lay it all out.

First thing is, the prologue is very reader-engaging. You would be hooked and would want more of the story and I think that is what prologues are for. Our Demons, Best Friends prologue served its purpose.

The story follows Ava and Sebastian, both medical residents who got to know each other because they both practice in the same hospital. Ava has an eye for Sebastian who seem to be mysterious and hides a dark background. In the course of their residency, they both unlocked each other’s pasts and got along well. The catch? Sebastian just flipped and sent mixed signals to Ava.

Since all the characters in the story are on their medical residency already, I assumed this is a new adult genre but while I was reading it, the behaviors and attitudes of the characters mimics that of a young adult. It kind of disturbed me a bit.

On the characters: Ava, the lead character has a lot of faith in her studies but lacks the confidence for herself which is a bit ambiguous, as for me.I like how she isn’t afraid to confront her feelings while being reserved at the same time.

Sebastian is the kind of character you would want to get to know more but is also okay just the way he is.

The side/supporting characters are also very engaging. I like how they completed the story rather than being just a background.

On the storyline: I like the premise of the story. It was promising and too cute but I longed for more angst. (Okay the adult in me is looking for hot and steamy scenes. Hahaha!) My favorite part of the story is the fact that it revolved around the medical field and that they were all doctors. I’ve always wanted to be one so there’s that! 🙂

On the writing: Scott’s writing is flawless but Our Demons, Best Friends is just too wordy for me. I think there are unnecessary dialogues and descriptions there that are better left off. Aside from that, the writing is excellent and is very engaging.

Overall, I like this book and it is very promising. I want to read the next book already. Also, if you crave for a cute, easy and fast-paced book, this one is for you! I assure you, there is no boring parts!

P.S. Thank you again, Diana! This book officially brought me out of my terrible slump.

4

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Our Demons, Best Friends

  1. This book seems like an interesting read! I’m curious to see how they were able to release whatever baggage they had and move on with their relationship. It’s very fortunate that this book was able to bring you out of your slump 🙂 Nice review!

    I found your blog through twitter, and I can’t wait to see your future posts!
    Grace from kimmiegg.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

