Book Review

Book Review: It Ends With Us

  • Title: It Ends With Us
  • Author: Colleen Hoover
  • Genre: Romance, New Adult
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publication Date: August 2, 2016
  • ISBN: 9781501110368
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

it-ends-with-us-cover

Synopsis Ribbon

“Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true. Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place. As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

 I read this book the day it was released and i’ve been delaying writing a review for a month now. Why? Because it was one of the best books i’ve read this year and I just couldn’t form the right words that would give justice to how good this story is. 

I dive in blind and I think you should too. I did not read any excerpts, any quotes and even the synopsis before reading it. I did not know what I was getting myself into but the reading experience was worth it. This made me decide to not give out the brief summary of what happened in the story although a lot of buzz erupted in the book community with regards to trigger warnings and they specifically pointed out this book. Well, for me, if you wanted things like those, you can first check out spoilery reviews rather than attack the author personally. There’s way too much hate in this community. We, readers, can do better than this. 

Back to the book, it was excellent. The writing style was part CoHo and part different side of CoHo. It was personal and close to CoHo’s heart so it eluded a different style on some parts of the book but it was a satisfying “new”. I like how the author unleashed the flaws of every character which is rampant in the real world. It was not all goody-good rather an eye-opener that bad things can also be done by good people and vice versa. 

While reading the book, I did not know who to side because even though I knew who was right, I cannot admit it to myself because I came to love the character in just a few pages. Same in our real lives, we turn a blind eye to our loved one’s flaws and mistakes because we deeply love them that we hesitate to point out their wrongdoings. I like how CoHo had written it in that way. Excellent. 

The best thing about this book? I was not the same person after reading it. I became less judgmental, more compassionate and emphatic. I learned to see things in a different perspective and agreed to put myself first before anyone. That’s being strong. To love yourself first before you can give a portion of you to someone else. Letting go is also loving. 

Bottomline, I love this book so much. If you will read a book written by CoHo, let it be this. 

5

Leave a Reply

