Book Review

Book Review: One Day Soon

  • Title: One Day Soon
  • Author: A. Meredith Walters
  • Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Publication Date: February 17, 2016
  • ISBN: 9781523875108
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

26858707

Synopsis Ribbon

“He found me in blood and tears. I stayed with him through darkness and fire. We loved each other in the moment between innocence and bitter truth. We were the kids easily ignored, who grew into adults we hardly knew. We weren’t meant to last forever. And we didn’t. He ran away. I tried to move on. Yet I never stopped thinking about the boy who had fought to keep me alive in a world that would have swallowed me whole. He was the past that I buried, but never forgot. Until the day I found him again, years after believing I had lost him forever. And in cold, resentful eyes, I saw the heart of the man who had been everything when I had nothing at all. So I vowed to hold onto the second chance that was stolen from the children we had been. Sometimes fate is ugly. Life can be twisted. And who we are can be ruined by who we once were. For two people who had survived so much, we would have to learn how to hold on before we were forced to let go.”

My Thoughts Ribbon

Just recently, we formed a group of book bloggers who loves to read New Adult books, in which we would do a read-along of NA books. We picked this one for our first read.

The story centers around Yoss and Imogen. They both struggled through the life of being homeless and stood by each other to survive the shackles of this hard life until one day they were separated and lost contact for fifteen years but life has it’s funny way, Yoss and Imogen met again bringing with them heavy baggage from the past.

This is a heavy read that really touched my heart. What I like more about the book is the fact that it tackled a lot of social issues that are really visible in today’s generation but are not given more focus and often ignored. It was an eye-opener and it made me more compassionate and understanding. Definitely not your typical New Adult Romance.

The angst, the swoon-worthy scenes are still prevalent in the novel and the story is told in a “past and present” way. I like it that way since it made the readers understand more what truly happened in the past. The writing is excellent though I kind of find it slow at the start and confused me on the end part, nevertheless it still made me love the book.

I would really recommend this book if you are looking for something that out of the ordinary. It’s A. Meredith, guys! I have yet to read of book of hers that I did not like. Love her and her books!!

4

Here are the other reviews of my sisters from #NALitLoversPH #NewAdultAndBeyondPH book club. Hope you guys will check this out also! 🙂

Kat

Pearl

Claire 

Bea

Allie

Rechellyn

 

8 thoughts on “Book Review: One Day Soon

Leave a Reply

