Book Review

Book Review: Bossman

  • Title: Bossman
  • Author: Vi Keeland
  • Series: Dirty Office Romance #1
  • Genre: New Adult
  • Publisher: EverAfter Romance
  • Publication Date: July 18, 2016
  • ISBN: 9781682304303
  • Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
  • Buy: Amazon

boss-man-cover

Synopsis Ribbon

“The first time I met Chase Parker, I didn’t exactly make a good impression. I was hiding in the bathroom hallway of a restaurant, leaving a message for my best friend to save me from my awful date. He overheard and told me I was a bitch, then proceeded to offer me some dating advice. So I told him to mind his own damn business―his own tall, gorgeous, full-of-himself damn business―and went back to my miserable date. When he walked by my table, he smirked, and I watched his arrogant, sexy ass walk back to his date. I couldn’t help but sneak hidden glances at the condescending jerk on the other side of the room. Of course, he caught me on more than one occasion, and winked. When the gorgeous stranger and his equally hot date suddenly appeared at our table, I thought he was going to rat me out. But instead, he pretended we knew each other and joined us―telling elaborate, embarrassing stories about our fake childhood. My date suddenly went from boring to bizarrely exciting. When it was over and we parted ways, I thought about him more than I would ever admit, even though I knew I’d never see him again. I mean, what were the chances I’d run into him again in a city with eight million people? Then again…What were the chances a month later he’d wind up being my new sexy boss?”

My Thoughts Ribbon

If I could pick a book boyfriend who I could turn into a real life one, it would be Chase Parker. He is so yummy, funny, witty, rich, and with a touch of mysterious/dark past. I mean, duh! Who wouldn’t want a guy that could make you laugh, can fend for you, is so sexy but is balanced with angst and can throw banters that will make you never want to go away. He is so addicting, seriously…

you-look-delicious

The story opens when Chase overheard Reese ranting about her date, Martin. She was asking her friend to bail her out from that boring date. Minutes later, Chase came barging in to Reese and Martin’s table. Here comes the overly funny encounter… Chase pretended that he and Reese were long lost friend and made up embarrassing stories until Reese just played along and added bits of pieces to this fake childhood stories.

But destiny has a funny way of knocking you out of your feet. Just when Reese thought that she would not bump into Chase again, it turned out the company she was applying for is owned by Chase!!! 🙂

Wait-say-what-GIF

I love, love, love this story!! It is so hilarious and sexy that I couldn’t stop flipping the pages. Definitely a breather after a series of heartbreaking books. Vi Keeland knows how to pull her readers in and get them hooked starting in the first chapter up until the last part. This is one of those stories that satisfies the pleasure of reading books. It will keep you engaged, make you laugh, and at the same time make you feel the angst.

The catch? it wasn’t all sweety, flirty. There were also tension and a bit of drama which I think neutralizes the story. Also, I like how the characters respect the decision of each other and they did not jump right into bed like some other hot books portrays.

Overall, I love the book and the flow of the story. Vi Keeland’s writing is addictive but the plot twist is a bit predictable. Nevertheless, it was such a light-hearted read and I would recommend this to everyone! 🙂

4

This is our second book for the #NALitLoversPH #NewAdultAndBeyondPH read-along. Check out other reviews here:

Allie

Pearl

Bea

Rechellyn

Kat

Nicay

Claire

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Bossman

Leave a Reply

